After an accident, it can be difficult to transition back to life as it was before the collision. You may be struggling with your health, your finances, and your relationships. Yet, you shouldn’t have to suffer these consequences–especially not on your own. If you or a loved one was injured in an accident while using services such as Uber or Lyft, our team can file your case and pursue financial recovery on your behalf.
As rideshare companies operate using the driver’s own vehicle, accident claims rest somewhere between a regular car accident and a commercial vehicle accident. The tricky part is knowing which insurance policy will cover your financial damages and how to secure their coverage. Our Nevada rideshare accident lawyers take the hassle out of making an injury claim by navigating the complex legal landscape and providing everything you need to recover the compensation you deserve.
Determining Who Is Liable For Your Injuries After A Rideshare Accident
If you are hurt in an accident in which the rideshare driver is at fault, either the driver, the rideshare company, or potentially both parties could be liable. While rideshare companies provide generous commercial auto insurance for their drivers, it will only cover you in certain situations, depending on what the driver was doing at the time of the accident.
According to Nevada Revised Statute 690B.470, rideshare companies must provide coverage whenever a driver is logged into the app. However, coverage limits vary depending on which phase the driver is in at the time of the accident, as follows:
Phase 0 – Drivers are logged out of the app
If an accident occurs while the driver is offline, their chosen personal insurance coverage will apply.
Phase 1 – Driver is logged into the app and waiting for a ride request
Once the driver is logged into the app, rideshare companies maintain the following insurance for when the driver is waiting for a ride request:
- $50,000 in bodily injury per person
- $100,000 in bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
Phase 2 – The app is active, and the driver has accepted a ride request
If the driver has accepted a ride request and is on the way to pick up passengers, the following insurance limits apply in covered accidents:
- At least $1,000,000 in third-party liability per accident
Phase 3 – The app is active, and the driver is carrying passengers
While carrying passengers, the same insurance limits apply as phase 2 in liability coverage.
Recoverable Damages for Rideshare Accident Claims in Nevada
Compensation in rideshare accidents varies and is determined on a case-by-case basis. In an accident claim, the following factors will need to be considered:
- Who is liable for causing or contributing to the accident? (Several parties could share liability).
- Was the driver logged into the app at the time of the accident?
- What evidence is there in support of your claim?
- How severe are your injuries? Do they affect your home and work life?
- Do you have any other losses related to the accident?
- How much coverage is available under the applicable policies?
- Was the claim filed within the time allowed per Nevada’s statute of limitations?
Once we have answered these questions, our rideshare accident lawyers will be able to pursue compensation for your financial damages related to the following:
- Lost wages and reduced earning capacity if your ability to work is affected
- Costs related to your current and ongoing medical bills, treatment, and rehabilitation
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional distress
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Disfigurement or physical impairment
- Property damage
- Any other losses related to the accident
Wrongful Death Damages
If the accident resulted in the loss of a loved one, close family members may be able to recover damages for funeral and burial costs in addition to other related losses. Our wrongful death lawyers can pursue a lawsuit against a negligent party.
What Our Rideshare Accident Attorneys Can Do For You
As you can imagine, the legal process can quickly become complex, especially if your injuries are severe or the claim involves several liable parties and insurance companies. Further, rideshare companies often use the driver’s status as an independent contractor as a defense to reduce their financial risks.
While filing a claim may seem like an uphill struggle, you deserve to be properly compensated when someone else’s negligence causes you harm. We are here to help by:
- Providing a free initial consultation to explain your legal options
- Managing every aspect of your case administration and communications
- Being on hand to answer your questions
- Providing regular case updates
- Investigating the cause of the accident
- Identifying liable parties and applicable insurance policies
- Gathering evidence to prove a negligent party (or parties) caused your injuries
- Interviewing witnesses
- Assessing your current and future financial damages
- Leading settlement negotiations
- Taking your case to court where required
You Have a Limited Amount of Time to File Your Accident Case
If you are considering taking legal action for a rideshare accident, we recommend filing your claim sooner rather than later. Under Nevada law, injured parties have two years to file a rideshare accident claim per NRS § 11.190(4)(e). The same time limit applies for surviving families to file a wrongful death lawsuit in the event of a fatal accident caused by a negligent party.
Learn About Your Legal Options at No Cost or Obligation with Greenberg Gross
With a proven track record of success in challenging and complex cases, the lawyers at Greenberg Gross are here to help you seek fair compensation when someone causes you harm.
If you were injured or lost a loved one in an accident, we are here to guide and support you through every stage of the legal process. To learn more about making a claim and what we can do to help, contact us to arrange a free consultation with our team today.